Due to Bethesda forums going to a different forum ( Bethesda.net ), reproducing a very useful topic here on AFK Mods just in case all old topics fall off the face of the internet as Bethesda move on, and the old locked forums are no longer maintained.

Original research and credit to Martigen ( and all participants in the linked topic who helped ), I am just copying the info to preserve it on AFK Mods

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

[!] If you've released a texture mod, or plan to, please read

Martigen wrote :

I've noticed something about some of the texture mods uploaded to Nexus. This post is to draw attention to good texture mod packaging practices, and generate discussion on techniques artists can use to create such mods.

Disclaimer: I'm not actually a texture artist myself, though I have some limited experience manipulating textures (re: MMM), so those more knowledgeable than me please feel free to chime in!

The Problem
```````````````

There are so many texture mods of all makes and models that have been released so far, some of them fantastic and very professionally made. However I noticed, delving into the files, that some of them have textures saved in the wrong format, while others often forget mipmaps. And given Skyrim is already more demanding memory wise than its predecessors, it's more important than ever to keep an eye on memory usage when using texture mods. Unfortunately texture mods, especially large ones, if saved using the wrong format can waste a lot of valuable video memory real estate.

When video memory reaches its limit, textures are streamed from main memory causing a huge performance loss. There may be users playing now with texture mods that don't realise the sudden FPS jumps and stuttering they're experiencing are due to taxed video memory on their cards.