A Hopeful Question Re: Settler Assignment Issues

Jeremiah12LGeek

Now that official patches for Fallout 4 are over, it is clear there will never be an official fix for the settler assignment bug.

I'm not an expert, but a brief recap of the issue: Something that badly handles the scripts for settlers in the core game has been exacerbated by the official patches (particularly 1.5 or 1.6) and results in a game-breaking bug (baked into any related save games) that renders it permanently impossible to assign settlers.

I thought I'd ask in here what the likelihood would be of a mod that could address the issue? Not necessarily UFO4P, but is it even possible for a mod to mitigate or correct the issue? I expect it isn't likely, but it's hard to get a read on it based on the scattered and confusing information contained about the bug in most resources (especially Bethesda's.)

This issue is well documented (you may want to start with the last post as this provides a simplified explanation):

http://www.afkmods.com/index.php?/topic/4462-fo4-unlimited-settlementssettlers-a-caveat-for-mod-users/page-2

What can be fixed has been fixed as of UFO4P version 1.0.3. This fix eliminates the issue on vanilla sized settlements entirely, and it probably will also work well on settlements that are moderately larger.